Rocket Launcher rod holders - are they strong ?

Questions new members commonly ask e.g. Which kayak should I buy?
frappa11
Qualified Fish Monger
kayak: i9s, olive revo 13

Rocket Launcher rod holders - are they strong ?

Post by frappa11 »

For my revo 13, I am thinking of mounting 2 flush scotty mounts in the area in front of the pockets and then putting rocket launcher rod holders in them.

I have never used rocket launchers before - I have always used the normal rod holders (shaped like the scotty power lock) mounted with 4 screws at the base.

How strong are rocket launchers in a flush scotty mount ? can it take a big hit from a big gummy ? can I troll with them and it can take a hit from a big snapper ? Can I use decent sized rods (say 4-8kg) on them with no problems ? (i.e. the rod is not too heavy ?)
cheaterparts
Needs a life (forum tragic)
kayak: Stealth Profisha 525 ---

Re: Rocket Launcher rod holders - are they strong ?

Post by cheaterparts »

frappa11 wrote:For my revo 13, I am thinking of mounting 2 flush scotty mounts in the area in front of the pockets and then putting rocket launcher rod holders in them.

I have never used rocket launchers before - I have always used the normal rod holders (shaped like the scotty power lock) mounted with 4 screws at the base.

How strong are rocket launchers in a flush scotty mount ? can it take a big hit from a big gummy ? can I troll with them and it can take a hit from a big snapper ? Can I use decent sized rods (say 4-8kg) on them with no problems ? (i.e. the rod is not too heavy ?)
there are 101 ways to set up your rod holders Ron - I've always preferred Burkley quick sets myself but thats the way I set up and of cause use a paddle kayak so need them out of my way when moving

as for trolling why not use the trolling rod holders behind the seat
My kayak PBs