Help a tall newbie

Questions new members commonly ask e.g. Which kayak should I buy?
Joshua
The force is strong in this one
kayak: 2011 Red AI - 2014 Dune Outback

Help a tall newbie

Post by Joshua »

Hey vyakkes!
My name is Josh, I'm 26 and im looking at getting into kayaking.
I've been fishing since I was tiny and been snorkelling and spear fishing the last 12 months, and I think getting a kayak is the next step in enjoying both of these hobbies and exploring them a little more.

Unfortunately I don't have any where near enough money to buy a decent yak, and have to find something under $400 (me and the wife have our first baby on the way) I've been looking at eBay yaks and there is a bit in there for under that price, I know they won't be anything special, has any body here had any experience with eBay yaks?

I'm 6''4 and 80 kgs
I'm looking to do port Phillip fishing and snorkelling from the yak, with the occasional easy river thrown in.
I've had very little kayaking experience, and done a small amount of canoeing.

Will one of these shorter yaks be acceptable in the bay? I'm not looking to go out wide, just a few hundred meters off shore in good weather.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Here are a couple of the yaks I've considered.
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.vi ... 1395503130
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.vi ... 1026707182
Im aware longer yaks are better for the bay, I just don't have the space to store one hence the 3m yaks above.

Cheers guys.
Best catch - Stingray on a hard-body
laneends
Vyak Addict
kayak: Quests 11 13 Adventure 16 Revo 16 ORSki epic k1

Re: Help a tall newbie

Post by laneends »

My first yak was one of these types of things. They are all much the same thing. You will be pushing for leg room at 6' 4". Go to one of the nearest big stores and go sit in a short yak.