New Vyak member and new to Melbourne fishing

New? Say G'Day here!
Toddy
kayak: Orca triton

New Vyak member and new to Melbourne fishing

Post by Toddy »

Hi all my name is Todd
I’m relatively new to Melbourne and have only done a handful of kayak trips out on PPB, I have done a fair bit of yak fishing back home in NZ before moving to Aus.
My new kayak is pretty well set up and ready to go.
I don’t eat fish I do it because I enjoy the sport and I love getting out on the water. That is why I do prefer to chase larger species of fish “game fish” in saying that I’m generally happy as long as I’m bending a rod .
I am definitely interested in information regarding spots and launch locations, and always keen to get together with fellow yak fishos to hit the water with.

Thanks for the add
maverick
Hardcore Vyaker
kayak: Hobie Direction & Hobie Road Sign

Re: New Vyak member and new to Melbourne fishing

Post by maverick »

Welcome Todd, what area are you in? Mateeee N.Z. - that is where the kayak based game fishing is, not Vic LoL. Might see you down at Portland/Port Fairy. What sort of yak are you fishing from?

Mav.
Well past the edge, almost at the point of no return.
Toddy

Post by Toddy »

I’m living in Sunbury so no where near the beach haha.
Yeah I’ve landed a few kingfish on the yak in NZ.
Portland I haven’t been to that part of the world yet, I’ll definitely check it out. I just need info on what waters are yakable and where to never even think about...
I have an orca triton which is a tandem that I have set up as a solo due to needing the high weight capacity. I have a 55lb transom Mount with a 140ah primary battery plus a 50ah secondary battery, with Lawrence sounder and the usual bits and pieces.

I was reading an old thread about a trip to the Cody bank.... that would be cool.
maverick
Hardcore Vyaker

Post by maverick »

Sounds like an intersting rig. In Vic, it wiill need to be registered as a boat, due to the engine size.